Elections and Electoral System

Election of MPs is announced by the President of the Republic, ninety days before the expiration of the mandate of the National Assembly, so that the election can be completed within the following sixty days.

MPs are elected in the Republic of Serbia as one electoral unit, by use of proportional electoral system, by voting for election lists, and by distribution of MPs mandates in proportion with the number of votes that the lists received.

The election is conducted by the Republic Electoral Commission, local electoral commissions and electoral committees (municipal and city).

Every able-bodied citizen of the Republic of Serbia who is eighteen years of age has the right to elect MPs and be elected as MP.

No one has the right, on any grounds, to prevent a citizen from voting or force a citizen to vote, to hold him/her responsible for having voted, and to request that a citizen state for whom he/she voted or why he/she failed to vote.
Registered political parties, coalitions of political parties, and citizens’ groups are allowed to submit election lists of candidates for MPs.

The election list can include no more than 250 candidates, since this is the number of MPs to be elected.

The election list must contain a minimum of 40% of candidates of the less represented gender so that after every fifth candidate in order on the list, the election list must contain three candidates of one and two candidates of the other gender.

The election list is forwarded to the Republic Electoral Commission no later than twenty days prior to the day of the election.

The election list must be accompanied by a minimum of 10,000 court-certified statements of constituents supporting the election list with their signatures, alternately a minimum of 5,000 court-certified statements of constituents in case of a national minority election list.

No later than five days before the day of the election, each voter is forwarded the following information: date and time of election, address and number of the polling station where he/she should vote, and the number under which he/she is recorded in the excerpt from the list of voters.

On the day of the voting, polling stations open at 7.00 in the morning, closing at 8.00 in the evening. During these hours, polling stations must remain open at all times.

The voter can vote only for one election list on the ballot. To cast a vote, he/she should circle the sequence number written before the title of the selected election list.

Results of the election are announced by the Republic Electoral Commission within a period of ninety six hours from the completion of the voting. Results of the election are announced in “The Official Gazette of the Republic of Serbia” and the REC web-presentation..

Each election list is entitled to the number of mandates that is proportional to the number of received votes.
Only election lists that received a minimum of 3% of votes of the total number of voters who had voted are allowed to participate in the distribution of MPs’ mandates.

Political parties of national minorities represent the exception; they are allowed to participate in the distribution of MPs’ mandates regardless of the number of votes that they received.
Mandates are distributed by use of method of highest quotients (the so-called D’ Hondt system); the total number of votes received by each individual election list is divided by numbers from 1 to 250. Obtained quotients are classified by size, and 250 highest quotients are used.
Each election list receives the number of mandates equal to the number of highest quotients (to which the list is entitled) that appear within the 250 highest ones.

The candidates on the election list are awarded MPs mandates according to their order of presentation, starting from the first candidate on the list.

The Republic Electoral Commission allocates the MPs mandates no later than 10 days after the publication of the election results, after which it creates a report on the conducted election and submits it to the National Assembly.

On the basis of the report of the Republic Electoral Commission on the conducted election, mandates of MPs are verified at the first session of the National Assembly convened by the Speaker of the previous composition of the National Assembly. The session should be held no later than thirty days from the day of the announcement of final results of the election.

The new composition of the National Assembly is constituted when no fewer than two thirds of MPs’ mandates are verified; the mandate of the previous composition of the National Assembly ceases.

Dissolution of the National Assembly and the announcement of the election of MPs

The National Assembly is dissolved if it fails to appoint a Government within the period of ninety days from the day of its constitution, or if the Government proposes the dissolution of the National Assembly to the President of the Republic.

The Government cannot propose the dissolution of the National Assembly if a proposal that the Government be voted out of power has already been submitted, or if the Government itself has raised this issue.

The National Assembly cannot be dissolved during the period of war or during an emergency situation.

The President of the Republic must dissolve the National Assembly by decree in cases provided in the Constitution.

Simultaneously with the dissolution of the National Assembly the President of the Republic calls the election for MPs so that the election can be completed no later than sixty days after the announcement.

For more information visit the website of the Republic Electoral Commission.

Previous month Next month
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
monday, 22 july
  • 11.00 - sitting of the Culture and Information Committee (National Assembly House, 13 Nikola Pasic Square, hall 4)

  • 12.00 - sitting of the Committee on Constitutional and Legislative Issues (National Assembly House, 13 Nikola Pasic Square, hall 3)

  • 13.00 - sitting of the Committee on Spatial Planning, Transport, Infrastructure and Telecommunications (National Assembly House, 13 Nikola Pasic Square, hall 2)

Full event calendar