Monday, 13 December 2021

20th Sitting of the Environmental Protection Committee

At the sitting held on 13 December 2021, the members of the Environmental Protection Committee considered the 2020 Report on the State of the Environment in the Republic of Serbia, submitted by the Government.

The Report was presented by the Assistant Director of the Environmental Protection Agency Dr Tamara Perunovic who said that the review and assessment of the state of the environment for 2020 is based on indicators listed per thematic units as specified in the Rulebook on the National List of Environmental Protection Indicators.

Perunovic also spoke about air quality and climate monitoring, concentration of allergenic pollen and the quality of surface and groundwater.

Speaking of climatic conditions, she said that the rainfall in 2020 was average, while in terms of annual air temperature, 2020 is the seventh warmest year since 1951.

Perunovic went on to speak about waste management viz. municipal, industrial and pharmaceutical waste.

She informed the Committee members about the situation in the field of forestry, energy and tourism.

Speaking of environmental regulation, she pointed out that in 2020, the Republic Inspection completed 88% of the planned 90% of inspections, which can easily be termed a successful implementation of the legal regulations.

Assistant Minister Aleksandra Imsiragic Djuric then briefed the Committee members on the normative activities of the Ministry of Environmental Protection, saying that four new draft laws are being worked on, including the Draft Law amending the Law on Environmental Protection which will be put to public debated 2-21 December of this year, as well as the Draft Law on the Control of Major-Accident Hazards Involving Dangerous Substances.

Milan Rogulja, representative of the Green Chair, also took part in the sitting.

Following a discussion, the Committee members unanimously proposed that the National Assembly accept the 2020 Report on the State of the Environment in the Republic of Serbia, submitted by the Government.

The sitting was chaired by Committee Chairman Dr Ljubinko Rakonjac and attended by the following Committee members and deputy members: Marija Todorovic, Jelena Obradovic, Marko Mladenovic, Ákos Újhelyi, Tomislav Jankovic, Vesna Krisanov, Velibor Milojicic, Stanislava Janosevic, Bogatinovic Zarko and Kostadinova Nevenka.

Committees related to this activity

Previous month Next month
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 1 2 3
monday, 26 february
  • No announcements for selected date

Full event calendar