Cooperation of the National Assembly with the European Parliament

Meetings of representatives of the National Assembly (members of the European Integrations Committee) and the Delegation of the European Parliament were formalized in 2004 when regular annual meetings of the Inter-Parliamentary Dialogue were introduced. Since 2006, this form of cooperation of the National Assembly with the European Parliament has been taking place in the form of annual inter-parliamentary meetings held alternately in Belgrade and Brussels/Strasbourg.

  • The first inter-parliamentary meeting was held in Brussels on November 21-22,
  • 2006;
  • The second inter-parliamentary meeting was held in Belgrade on November 24-26, 2008;
  • The third inter-parliamentary meeting was held in Strasbourg on December 16-17, 2009;
  • The fourth inter-parliamentary meeting was held in Belgrade on October 4-5, 2010;
  • The fifth inter-parliamentary meeting was held in Brussels on April 18-19, 2011.

After the completion of inter-parliamentary meetings, Chairpersons of delegations agree about a joint statement. At inter-parliamentary meetings the European Parliament is represented by the Delegation for Cooperation with Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, and Kosovo (until 2009 this delegation was called Delegation for Cooperation with Countries of South-East Europe). The delegation is headed by the representative from Slovakia, Eduard Kukan. Deputies are representatives from Slovenia, Jelko Kacin, and Romania, Victor Bostinaru. The delegation of the National Assembly is composed of members of the European Integrations Committee. The Delegation is headed by the Committee Chairman, Laszlo Varga.

The European Parliament’s Report on Serbia, proposed by the European Parliament’s rapporteur for Serbia, Jelko Kacin, represents the most important document concerning general relations between the European Parliament and Serbia.

Another group important for the cooperation between the National Assembly and the European Parliament is the Western Balkans Group, founded at the constitutive meeting held on October 6, 2009. Its members are: Hanes Svoboda (Austria) – Chairman of the Group and rapporteur for Croatia; Doris Pack (Germany)- rapporteur for Bosnia and Herzegovina, rapporteur for Macedonia (during the election process), Jelko Kacin (Slovenia) – rapporteur for Serbia, Ulrike Lunacek (Austria) – rapporteur for Kosovo, Charles Tannock (Great Britain) – rapporteur for Montenegro, Nikolaos Chountis (Greece) – rapporteur for Albania, Eduard Kukan (Slovakia) – Chairman of the European Parliament Delegation for Relations with Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, and Kosovo, and Krzysztof Lisek (Poland) – in the capacity of the Representative of the Sub-Committee for Defense and Security.

In September 2010, an informal parliamentary group named “Friends of Serbia” was founded in the European Parliament. Romanian representative Victor Bostinaru is the Chairman of the Group, while the German representative Silvana Koch-Mehrin is the Deputy Chairman. The group has more than fifty members and it was founded within the European Parliament for the purpose of improvement of relations with Serbia and promotion of joint initiatives. EP representatives concluded that the group was founded at the right time and that it will be of long-term importance. The group of friends of Serbia in the European Parliament consists of MPs from various EU member states who favor different political options. The majority of members come from the socialist and people’s parties. Founding of the “Friends of Serbia” group provided a higher form of cooperation and created a platform for better understanding of Serbia’s political direction, promotion of our opinions with respect to the honoring of standards and values of the European Union, as well as the realization of the strategic goal – membership in the European Union.

Ever more frequent visits of members of the European Parliament to Serbia as well as visits of our MPs to the European Parliament speak of the relations and cooperation of the European Parliament and the National Assembly.

Cooperation with the European Parliament is also realized by way of seminars that the EP organizes for representatives and staff from the countries of Western Balkans on various topics of importance to the social reform and the process of accession of these countries to the European Union (liberalization of the visa regime, CEFTA, reform of the judiciary, budget, etc.).
Previous month Next month November 2017
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
Wednesday, 22 November

Full event calendar